Jacques Moeschal was born in Belgium in 1913.
He studied architecture at the Brussels Academy and became a lecturer upon graduation.
Along with being an architect and establishing residential projects as part of his country’s reconstruction after World War II, Moeschal was also a sculptor creating mostly monumental sculptures. His style was entirely abstract, geometric and very dynamic.
In the Expo International Exhibition of 1958 in Brussels, he created “Arrow of Civil Engineering”, which has become the second most important attraction to the well-known “Atomium” tower.
In 1992 he received a knighthood from King Baudouin of Belgium, which shows the great recognition he earned.
Moeschal was a member of the International Association of Plastic Arts and a renowned art critic.
His works have been shown in many places around the world. He also participated in several international sculpture symposia, including the first sculpture symposium in Austria, which is where he apparently met with Kosso Eloul, the initiator of the symposium in Mitzpe Ramon.
Jacques Moeschal died in 2004.
Some claim that Jacques Moeschal’s sculpture is named “The Rebirth of Israel”, but Moeschal himself called it “Light Sensor” or by its full name “Light sensor – Study for Signal of the Negev, Israel “'(French’ Capteur de lumière – Study for Signal du Néguev Israel).
Moeschal’s statue is unique in the park as it is the only one that is not made of stone, but of gray concrete.
The statue is made in the form of two pillars close to one another with a narrow gap between them, leading up to a cone with a large, round hole in it.
The statue faces east into the rising sun, and conjures up an association of an ancient god overlooking the vastness of the land, who catches the light with one eye and diverts it down to man on the ground.
Another interpretation might be it is a kind of monument in itself, spiritual and sublime. Maybe this is why its nickname is “the Rebirth of Israel”.